Originally Posted by bazal
any and all accounts that you have on your system will be unlinked from any connection to a psn account and will lose all act.dats, reactpsn or not(be deactivated) i suggest backing up your "dev_hdd0/home" folder and your xregistry.sys file before restoring default settings.
initially everything went well, i had "sign up for psn" in the xmb instead of "log in", i still had all of my trophies and i still had all of my saves/data etc. i got the error, though right in the very last step, which is the eventual goal, the syncing of the trophies to the new account so when i pressed sync, i think it loaded or synced for 2% and then gave me the error
p.s. after restoring default settings, all of your user accounts will be renamed with a * in the front, this is normal
ok, i will try this today or tomorrow.
Originally Posted by ttesterzz
I got banned after awhile and all I did was sync trophies and immediately got offline with nothing like multiman running a game when I did sync.
I did us ps3usercheat when I was on 3.55. There are several reasons why syncing trophies may get someone banned.
1: Using a cheat that may get a trophy or more too early in a game for example Final Fantasy XIII, I believe I used a cheat that caused me to strike with a character dealing 99999 damage causing one of the trophies to unlock way early in the game before completely the first level that unlocks yet another trophy. (I may have been banned this way from trophies)
2: Syncing psn games that aren't linked to ur account and getting those trophies that can only be received with full retail game. (Also may have been yet another clue to ban me)
3. Ultimately the unknown fact that we just don't know what information Sony can see or detect on CFW.
So ultimately best to stay offline. There is no way yet to edit trophies or remove any. If 1 and 2 don't apply may be safer to sync but because of number 3 it's obviously safest never to get online at all. Just want to share my experience from thinking I was playing it safe, NOT. Sony eventually got me somehow. Would be nice if they explained how they know. Lol
the 2nd reason is not true, since legit PS3 owner could just do a share on a PSN game/dlc.