The above video goes away if you are logged in!

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 41 to 50 of 50
  1. #41
    Member madshaun1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    At Home
    Posts
    726
    Likes
    129
    Liked 207 Times in 106 Posts
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Downloads
    136
    Uploads
    0
    Yes apt getting kubuntu-desktop should work, but will reduce the amount of disk space available to you for other files.

  2. #42
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    162
    Likes
    12
    Liked 34 Times in 24 Posts
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    27
    Uploads
    0
    oh yeah right, because its within the limitations of those image files, forgot about that. but running xfce, would xbmc and emulators run better? going to get my ps3 back tomorrow, so i can tinker with this then.. what was the amount of storage available with your images again?

  3. #43
    Member madshaun1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    At Home
    Posts
    726
    Likes
    129
    Liked 207 Times in 106 Posts
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Downloads
    136
    Uploads
    0
    There was around 5gb of free space

  4. #44
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    514
    Likes
    4
    Liked 41 Times in 37 Posts
    Mentioned
    20 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    6
    Uploads
    0
    I did the tutorial , works pretty good once you install LXDE .

    I also installed the linux image and linux headers version 2.6.38 by graf but the system monitor still shows Kernel Linux 2.6.36 Natty.
    I understand i must configure the kboot.conf to load graf's kernel. Can anyone provide a working kboot.conf for this setup discussed in this thread ( the 10 img files on dev_hdd0 and asbestos 1.5 ? )
    Last edited by arcadekidflo; 05-17-2011 at 04:12 PM.

  5. #45
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    I hope I'm not gravedigging by asking this noob question but...

    Are there any kernel versions that support the PS3's (slim) wireless card for this version of Ubuntu? - or - How would one go about setting up a wireless connection using this release? (The PS3's wireless card does not seem to be detected)

  6. #46
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    12
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    64
    Uploads
    0

    edit img files

    Dear,
    I want to edit some things in the img files.
    Do u have a idea how can I mount them and do edits?
    Thx

  7. #47
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2
    Likes
    0
    Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    3
    Uploads
    0
    This is brilliant. Thanks. My laptop broke so this is now my only computer.

    Wired internet only works for me if I set it up in game OS first in case anyone is having this problem.

    A useful addition to this image would be to have "onboard" launch at startup for those with no keyboard.

  8. #48
    Member madshaun1984's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    At Home
    Posts
    726
    Likes
    129
    Liked 207 Times in 106 Posts
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Downloads
    136
    Uploads
    0
    Wireless will work from both slim or fat ps3's, but you have to manually configure it. Take a look at this guide for otheros, which I can confirm as working....

    Open terminal and type...

    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/network/interfaces

    Then edit the file that opens to meet your requirements...

    for example...

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    #
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    #
    wpa-conf managed
    wpa-ssid YOUR_SSID
    wpa-proto TKIP
    wpa-key-mgmt WPA-PSK
    wpa-psk YOUR-KEY
    Press ctrl+o then hit enter to save the file, then press ctrl+x to exit the file.

    Then restart your network interface with

    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    You should now be able to connect via wireless.

    Hope this helps.

  9. #49
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Hi guyz !
    am a new user on ps3hax !
    first of all i would like to thank " madshaun1984 " for his work on the improved ubuntu img's.
    i've been trying to get sound working in ps3 ubuntu all morning..........i've done alot of things to get sound up ...... first type this in ur ps3 ubuntu terminal :
    sudo adduser -a -G audio ps3
    then proceed with the commands below .
    here's the procedure :
    1) login as ps3.
    2) open terminal and type :
    " sudo passwd root " (without the quotes).
    3)then type the NEW password for root .
    4) then type :
    " sudo passwd -u root " (without the quotes).
    5) install a media player of ur choice ( i use xine as it is lite weight media player).
    6) logout ps3 and login with root ( when asked for password, enter your new password which u had set for root)
    7)open up xine (or a media player of ur choice) and select ur audio file and play !
    ENJOY !!
    thnx to madshaun1984 for the improved ubuntu img's .
    ** install LXDE desktop environment to make ubuntu faster**
    ************* [ - Post Merged - ] *************
    Finally here's the Conclusion (according to me) :
    Sound in improved ubuntu (by madshaun) works ONLY under ROOT !
    i posted a small tutorial in my previous comment for people who don't know abt linux so much ( p.s. am a newbie at linux) so that they could login as root and play music and all)

  10. #50
    Apprentice
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    2
    Likes
    0
    Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    hello everyone!

    how can I increase free space available to this version of ubuntu?

    also,ubuntu doesn't detect my external fat32 hard drive. what should I do? I'm noob to linux

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5

Bookmarks

Bookmarks
  • Submit to Digg Digg
  • Submit to del.icio.us del.icio.us
  • Submit to StumbleUpon StumbleUpon
  • Submit to Google Google

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •