The above video goes away if you are logged in!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Pirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,654
    Likes
    376
    Liked 8,954 Times in 1,469 Posts
    Mentioned
    997 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    Downloads
    318
    Uploads
    231

    PS4 gives 4.5GB/8GB for Game code

    According to reports, Sony internal documents reveal that the PS4 will allocate (guarantee) 4.5gb ou... [Read More]

  2. #2
    OoZic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Just ask Sony !!
    Posts
    4,086
    Likes
    1,407
    Liked 2,126 Times in 1,224 Posts
    Mentioned
    105 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    56
    Uploads
    0
    And the 3.5 Gb the devs can't use is needed for the OS and maybe video-ram? That is a heavy OS than
    Proud owner of an AmigaOne X1000 PowerPC System


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    No longer active.
    Posts
    545
    Likes
    38
    Liked 110 Times in 84 Posts
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Pirate View Post
    According to reports, Sony internal documents reveal that the PS4 will allocate (guarantee) 4.5gb ou... [Read More]
    I already posted this about 2 days ago.

    [PS4 Section]

  4. The Following User Likes This Post:


  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    203
    Likes
    35
    Liked 43 Times in 23 Posts
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    26
    Uploads
    0
    Why on earth 4 gigabytes of ram ON A GAME CONSOLE are reserved to the operative system?
    This is madness...

  6. The Following User Likes This Post:


  7. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    59
    Likes
    5
    Liked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    1
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Brenza View Post
    Why on earth 4 gigabytes of ram ON A GAME CONSOLE are reserved to the operative system?
    This is madness...
    Because things like recording 15min of gameplay instead of 5 are more important than the gameplay itself....
    Last edited by getout; 07-28-2013 at 09:16 AM.

  8. The Following User Likes This Post:


  9. #6
    Apprentice null
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    29
    Likes
    6
    Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    0
    Uploads
    0
    To be fair, 4.5GB is plenty for games.

  10. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    /dev_hdd0
    Posts
    190
    Likes
    431
    Liked 62 Times in 44 Posts
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    45
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by getout View Post
    Because things like recording 15min of gameplay instead of 5 are more important than the gameplay itself....
    That together with all the "social features" and stuff like that is the only thing I don't like on the PS4... I'll probably buy it anyway, but nowadays when I see somewhere the word "social", it makes me sick

  11. The Following User Likes This Post:


  12. #8
    Member null
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    33
    Likes
    1
    Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    25
    Uploads
    0
    i heard its 6gb gddr5 for games now http://gematsu.com/2013/07/rumor-upd...-5gb-ram-games
    rumor update: PS4 reserves up to 5GB of RAM for games [Update: 'Absolutely false', 6GB hinted

  13. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In NeoSabin
    Posts
    17,055
    Likes
    10,261
    Liked 18,776 Times in 7,168 Posts
    Mentioned
    2066 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Downloads
    148
    Uploads
    111
    After the whole not enough ram to give us Cross Game Chat problem, I don't think they are taking any chances this time.

    Plus with all the crap going on, like downloading a game you are playing whilst recording it at the same time, the PS4 will need all that extra OS Ram.

  14. The Following User Likes This Post:


  15. #10
    OoZic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Just ask Sony !!
    Posts
    4,086
    Likes
    1,407
    Liked 2,126 Times in 1,224 Posts
    Mentioned
    105 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Downloads
    56
    Uploads
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GregoryRasputin View Post
    Plus with all the crap going on, like downloading a game you are playing whilst recording it at the same time, the PS4 will need all that extra OS Ram.
    My guess is the PS4 can do that to the HDD?

    Decent video-cards have 2Gb of videoram these days, take that away from the 3.5 Gb and we get 1.5 Gb. I think that makes more sence, but still is heavy for FreeBSD 9.0....
    Proud owner of an AmigaOne X1000 PowerPC System


  16. The Following User Likes This Post:


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks
  • Submit to Digg Digg
  • Submit to del.icio.us del.icio.us
  • Submit to StumbleUpon StumbleUpon
  • Submit to Google Google

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •